I typically tie some healthy tips in with some aspect of deer and deer hunting. These are 2 of my passions. For this post, I really couldn’t find a way to tie the two together.

You see, one of the most important things for us to remember if we want to improve our health is to set manageable goals for ourselves as we try to make the necessary changes to our lifestyle. What I mean is this… if you start every day with a cup of coffee and a doughnut it is ridiculous to think that tomorrow you will eat a healthy breakfast and keep that habit the rest of your life. Instead, your goals should be a “comfortable stretch” for you. Using the example above, eat the doughnut and drink the coffee, just eat a banana as well. As you make progress your body will begin to crave the healthier options and actually you will feel bad physically when you do eat something junky. Deer do not eat  junk food and they don’t have to set health goals. Their goals are simple: find enough food for the day and don’t get eaten by predators!

I have made some changes to my lifestyle and I saw some immediate results. I am about 12 weeks into these changes and they are starting to get a little boring. So, I have set some new goals for myself. Some of these goals are short-term and some are longer term goals.

One of the short-term goals is to complete a half marathon. I have entered the Murfreesboro Middle Half and I will be running the 13.1 miles on October 16, 2010. I don’t particularly enjoy running, but I have been at the finish line for several marathons/half-marathons and as I watched the competitors cross the finish line each of them had such an incredible look of accomplishment on their face. I decided I wanted that same feeling of accomplishment. So, I have been training for this half marathon and I can’t wait to cross the finish line come October 16th!

So, what are your health goals? Have you set some in the past that you need to revisit? Are there any new ones you want to set? Goals keep us focused and are a great way to measure our progress. Make them a stretch for you, but make them believable. If I can do it, I know you can too!

